Music Review: Mohenjo Daro

images (8).jpeg

 

After Lagaan, Swades and Jodha Akbar, A.R Rahman and Ashutosh Gowarikar combo is back again. I was really excited and expected a lot. But after listening to this album, I was quite disappointed with this album. It is the weakest of the A.R Rahman-Ashutosh Gowarikar combo, according to me.
Most of the songs were rushing and at times, loud. They also seemed very confused. It feels as if A.R Rahman himself, wasn’t sure what to do. I also felt the mixing could have been slightly better.

But then again, its not easy to compose music for 2016 BC era. Hence, there were some songs in the album that are very mesmerising such as “Sindhu Ma”, “Whispers of the Mind”, “Whispers of the Heart” and “Tu Hai”! A.R Rahman did a good effort, and I appreciate that. Along with that, I also appreciate the choice of singers.

I have always been an A.R Rahman fan, but its not really necessary that I like all of his albums! While a lot of them are good, there are some albums, I felt that could have been a lot better, and Mohenjo Daro is one of them!

So overall, the album has some lows, but also has some highs. So do listen to it!

My Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

