Tamasha

Tamasha_(film_poster)

 

A.R Rahman’s new album brings a lot of freshness, just like his previous albums with Imtiaz Ali such as Rockstar and Highway. I’ve always noticed that A.R Rahman deeply goes into the plot of the movie and accordingly composes music. I also notice that A.R Rahman always brings the best out of the singers. Same thing happens with this album too.

This album has 9 songs:-

1. Matargashti

This song is fun-loving and groovy. Mohit Chauhan’s voice seriously suits Ranbir Kapoor. This song also gave me the feel of ‘Hawaa Hawaa’ from Rockstar. However, somewhere I felt that this song could’ve been slightly more catchy.

2. Heer Toh Badi Sad Hai

Now this song comes a huge surprise to me. This is a sad but happy song. I must say A.R Rahman did a wonderful job by making me see a sad song in a happy way. Another surprise is Mika Singh, who for the first time, sings for A.R Rahman. I’m not a fan of Mika, but I’m surprised that he actually sang this song well. This is what I meant when A.R Rahman gets the best out of all the singers.

3. Agar Tum Saath Ho

All the elements, be it the melody, the lyrics, the singing etc. makes this song stand out. Alka Yagnik sounds really fresh in this song, which I feel is a magic of A.R Rahman. Another example of how A.R Rahman gets the best out of all his singers. This song is very heart-touching, to an extent that I can’t stop listening to it. This becomes my most favourite song from this album.

4. Wat Wat Wat

This song gives a total Punjabi feeling. Makes me feel like dancing. This song also reminds me of ‘Katiya Karun’ from Rockstar, which gave me the same feel. Along with Arijit Singh, this song also features my friend Shashwat Singh, who makes his Bollywood debut with this song.

5. Chali Kahani

This song gave me a total operatic feel. This song goes through a lot of tempo changes, complex melody and lyrics that are more like story-telling. Another element is Sukhwinder Singh’s singing. I always love his songs with A.R Rahman. Another song that tops the list.

6. Safarnama

This song got me excited as I’ve always been a fan of Lucky Ali’s unique voice. This song gave me the feeling of travelling. This song is very soothing and the lyrics were mind-blowing. Another song that stands out.

7. Parade De La Bastille (Instrumental version)

As soon as I listened to the song, I instantly remembered ‘Tango for Taj’ from the movie Rockstar. Brings out the feel of Europe.

8. Wat Wat Wat (Vengeance mix)

Normally I’m not into remixes, but I somehow liked this remix version. Gave me the same feeling of dancing and joy, like in the original song.

9. Tu Koi Aur Hai

This song sung by A.R Rahman and Alma Ferovic (who sang ‘Aur Ho’ from the film Rockstar) is very soothing and melodic. A song which makes me go to another world. Another song that tops the list.

Overall, A.R Rahman’s music, Irshad Kamil’s lyrics and the amazing singing by the singers makes this album really fresh and definitely worth listening.

Rating:- 3.5/5

Leave a Reply

